Wahyudi English

an ordinary guy with an ordinary life

Why I named my sons MIZ and MID

Posted by Wahyudi English on January 17, 2008

Muhammad, The Prophet [Peace Be Upon Him] said: On the Day of Resurrection you will be called by your names and by your father’s names, so give yourselves good names. (Bukhari) One of the first duties a Muslim parent has is choosing a name for their newborn child. Muslims must choose a good name that has a righteous meaning that will befit and bring blessings to the child throughout his or her life. Umar (RA) said: ‘To whomsoever a child is born, he should be given a good name, sound education and when becomes of age he should be married.Then, why I named my sons Muhammad Iqbal Zahirulhaq (my first boy) and Muhammad Islam Dhyaulhaq (my second boy)? The first word of my sons’ name is Muhammad. This name is after the name of our Prophet, the most noble man in the world, in which I pray that Allah, the lord of universe, provides His bless to my sons to have good personality, attitude, and behavior like The Prophet Muhammad. Besides, giving my baby boy’s name after The Prophet’s name is recommended by him because it is one of blessed (barakah) names. As he states in his hadith “Whoever is named after me with the hope of being blessed, he will be blessed and will be in peace till the day of Qiyaamat.” “To whoever is born a boy and he names him Muhammad solely for the love of me and for the blessings of my name, then both he (the father) and his son will enter Jannah (paradise).”
The second words of my sons’ names are Iqbal (the first boy) and Islam (the second boy). Iqbal means glory or success. In my wish, of course it is not only the glory in the world but also glory in the hereafter. Islam means submission to Allah. It is the name after the blessed religion, Islam, as stated in The Holy Quran in Al Maaidah : 3 “This day have I perfected your religion for you, completed My favour upon you, and have chosen for you Islam as your religion” I do hope the life of my sons is to submit to Allah.

The third words of my sons’ names are Zahirulhaq (the first boy) and Dhyaulhaq (the second boy). Zahir means to actualize, and Haq means the truth. Zahirulhaq means the people who always seeks and actualizes the truth. The truth should not be hidden, it must be actualized in real life in heart, words, or actions. The Holy Prophet states as narrated by Muslim (hadith no 79) He who amongst you sees something abominable should modify it with the help of his hand; and if he has not strength enough to do it, then he should do it with his tongue, and if he has not strength enough to do it, (even) then he should (abhor it) from his heart, and that is the least of faith“. Dhyaul means the light. Dhyaulhaq means the light of truth. The light which always enlightens the world and gets rid off the darkness in which Allah as the Guardian and the Protector. As stated in The Holy Quran in Al Baqarah 257: “Allah is the Guardian and Protector of those who believe; He brings them forth from darkness into light

To conclude, I pray that Muhammad Iqbal Zahirulhaq to be a noble man who always steps in the tracts of the Holy Prophet and always get his glory in actualize the truth. I pray that Muhammad Islam Dhyaulhaq to be a noble man who always keeps his tracts in the Holy Prophet’s way, and always submits his life to Allah as the light of the truth.

May Allah, the Most Gracious and Most Merciful, bless us in worldly and hereafter life.

Leave a Reply

 
